Harry Maguire says defenders are unable to make contact in the box without the risk of conceding a penalty, following the controversial awarding of a spot-kick to North Macedonia vs England on Monday night.,

A controversial penalty was awarded to North Macedonia on Monday night after Bojan Miovski was adjudged to have been caught by the trailing arm of England debutant Rico Lewis following a VAR review; “It’s never a penalty,” said Maguire afterwards

A long ball forward saw England debutant Rico Lewis challenge Bojan Miovski in the area and head clear, but a trailing arm on the North Macedonia forward was spotted by VAR, forcing referee Filip Glova to point to the spot.

Bardhi saw his initial spot-kick saved by Pickford, but slammed in the rebound as England went in behind on the break.

 

Maguire showed his disapproval towards the referee after the decision, so much so he said Glova “gave them a goal”.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*